Some figures


Permanent and
contract staff


Facilities (m2)




National and international
journal publications

Staff breakdown


and full researchers


Administrative and
technical support


PHD thesis




Other fixed-term contracts


The “Laboratoire Plasma et Conversion d’Energie” is a Joint Research Unit of the Centre National de la recherche Scientifique (CNRS), the Institut National Polytechnique de Toulouse (“Toulouse INP”) and the Université Toulouse 3-Paul Sabatier (“UT3”).

Located on two sites just a few kilometres apart (on the sites of Paul Sabatier University and the Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Electrotechnique, d’Electronique, d’Informatique, d’Hydraulique et des Télécommunications), Laplace Lab is a member of the Université de Toulouse (UT) and participates in all initiatives aimed at defining a scientific strategy for the Toulouse site, bringing together universities, engineering schools and research institutes within the “Engineering and Systems Sciences” framework.

Laplace stands out as the foremost hub for research in Electrical Engineering and Plasma in France. Notably, it is the sole institution that fully addresses the ‘plasma/materials/systems’ continuum in an integrated manner.


One of the major challenges of the next twenty years is the energy transition of our society. This transition is grounded in energy moderation and efficiency, the development of renewable energy sources, and the mitigation of the impact associated with existing energy sources. The ambitious goals established at the national level necessitate a reevaluation of our production methods and the organizational systems of our urban, suburban, and rural areas. These adjustments aim to facilitate the shift from our current reliance on predominantly fossil energy to a future dominated by renewable energy, with electricity serving as the primary vector alongside innovative storage solutions.

The research carried out at Laplace Lab, ranging from the study of the physical mechanisms of energy conversion to the systems that implement them, is therefore at the heart of these concerns. The major areas of application include the production, transport, management, conversion and use of electricity.

This specificity results in a notable scientific output in terms of publications, as well as long-term research partnerships. The laboratory boasts cutting-edge equipment and hosts recognized platforms, such as the Hydrogen platform, and shared platforms like the 3DPHI platform. This comprehensive approach allows Le Laplace to cover the entire spectrum from conceptualization to demonstration.

The laboratory’s scientific policy is also grounded in defining and developing cross-disciplinary initiatives, a pivotal tool for integrating the unit’s scientific project. These initiatives, distinct from inter-group collaborations but not replacing them, unite multiple groups within a collaborative framework, aligning with shared objectives.

Within its ecosystem, Laplace collaborates with other laboratories at the de Toulouse and engages with the IRT Saint Exupéry and national ITEs. These collaborations aim to foster activities aligned with the significant scientific challenges identified by our country, such as health and future modes of transportation.


The Laplace Laboratory was created on January 1, 2007, following the merging of 3 Joint Research Units (1CPAT, LEEI, LGET) and a Host Team (2LE) thus becoming France’s leading research centre in the field of electrical and plasma engineering. In 2009, another research unit (3LAME) itself the result of the merging of two Host Teams, was added to the laboratory.
Laplace is the sole institution that fully addresses the ‘plasma/materials/systems’ continuum in an integrated manner.
We invite you to take a look at the brochure of highlights produced to mark the laboratory’s 10th anniversary.


1  -the “Centre de Physique des Plasmas et de leurs Applications de Toulouse” (CPAT, UMR CNRS-UPS N°5002),

   -the “Laboratoire d’Electrotechnique et d’Electronique Industrielle” (LEEI, UMR CNRS-INPT N° 5828)

   -the “Laboratoire de Génie Electrique de Toulouse” (LGET, UMR CNRS-UPS N°5003)

2 the “Laboratoire d’Energétique” (LE, UPS EA N°810).

3 the “Laboratoire de Micro-ondes et d’Electromagnétisme” (LAME, EA N°4141), formed on January 1, 2007 from the merger of the lab “Antennes, Dispositifs et Matériaux Micro-Ondes” (AD2M, EA N°809) and of the “Groupe de Recherche en Electromagnétisme” (GRE) of the “Laboratoire d’Electronique de l’ENSEEIHT” (LEN7, EA N°829).